Stained glass fabrics

One of the things I’ve searched for over the years, as a crafter and a quilter, are cotton fabrics that feature a stained glass pattern. It’s not quite as easy as you might think to find satisfactory ones. There have been a few beautiful lines of Art Deco or Tiffany-looking stained glass prints, such as Deco Delight by Fabric Freedom (which, I admit, I also snagged), but churchly-looking stained glass is a little trickier to come by. Here are a handful of nice ones that I’ve managed to find over the years, however.

 

IMG_4809

A very pretty Easter panel, though I have no real label info for it, sadly.

 

A fabric patterned with diamonds and cross or quatrefoil shapes, labeled "Marblehead" by Ro Gregg for Paintbrush Studio. Also a Psalm 23 panel by Springs Iindustries.

A fabric patterned with diamonds and cross or quatrefoil shapes, labeled “Marblehead” by Ro Gregg for Paintbrush Studio. Also a Psalm 23 panel by Springs Iindustries.

 

IMG_4811

Detail of the Psalm panel.

 

This is a very lovely and quite rare bit of fabric from 2006 that I'd hunted unsuccessfully for some time. With a tremendous stroke of luck, I found a quantity on Etsy some time back for a decent price. It is labeled Lloyds and Barton for Timeless Treasures.

This is a very lovely and quite rare bit of fabric from 2006 that I’d hunted unsuccessfully for some time. With a tremendous stroke of luck, I found a quantity on Etsy some time back for a decent price. It is labeled Lloyds and Barton for Timeless Treasures.

 

An adorable retro-style Christmas print with round windows, depicting different scenes. A small print and very charming. Unfortunately the label is cut off in the half-yard I have.

An adorable retro-style Christmas print with round windows, depicting different scenes. A small print and very charming. Unfortunately the label is cut off in the half-yard I have.

 

Detail. Isn’t that cute?? There is metallic gold detail all over the architectural components, too.

 

This series of coordinates is called "Rose Windows" by Samarra Khaja for Timeless Treasures.

This series of coordinates is called “Rose Windows” by Samarra Khaja for Timeless Treasures.

 

I got a whopping 6+ yards of this for something like $18 on eBay, so I snapped it up. It looked much nicer in person than in the eBay photo, nice colors. I love brightly-colored windows.  :)  It is marked only with the label "Hi Fashion Fabrics, Inc."

I got a whopping 6+ yards of this for something like $18 on eBay, so I snapped it up. It looked much nicer in person than in the eBay photo, nice colors. I love brightly-colored windows. 🙂 It is marked only with the label “Hi Fashion Fabrics, Inc.”

 

Finally, there's this one, which I also found a few yards of on eBay. I had previously seen it for something like $14 per half yard, so I was delighted to find a larger quantity at a much cheaper price. It's a really lovely striped print with a beautiful print that look very convincingly like decorative neo-Gothic-style church windows. It is marked Mary Ellen Hopkins Collection for SSL(?).

Finally, there’s this one, which I also found a few yards of on eBay. I had previously seen it for something like $14 per half yard, so I was delighted to find a larger quantity at a much cheaper price. It’s a really lovely striped print with a beautiful print that look very convincingly like decorative neo-Gothic-style church windows. It is marked Mary Ellen Hopkins Collection for SSL(?).

Other than small quilts, I thought that boy’s neckties would be an excellent use for a couple of these fabrics, particularly the smaller prints. I’ve made one already for my son with the “Rose Windows” fabric. Accent material for church banners would also look pretty cool, I think. Any other ideas for things to make?

2 responses to “Stained glass fabrics

  1. I would be interested in buying 2 yards of the Hi Fashion Fabrics, Inc. I have 1 yard and am interested in making a Christ Life Machine Embroidered Hanging using the Hi Fashion Fabric as the surround fabric to the embroideries. The one yard I have is not sufficient for the hanging I have in mind.

  2. So sorry– I’m not a seller. My blog post was just to call attention to the existence of these fabrics for whoever would like to search for them or see examples of stained glass fabric!

Leave a Reply

