Crafty Monday: Miniature art boxes

Among those who trade ATCs or dabble in collage and mixed media crafts, these little shadowboxes are often called “shrines.” I’m not sure how I feel about the associations with the word, so for now I’ll call my creations with them “art boxes.” I mentioned, on a previous Crafty Monday, that I love the niche as a design element, but often had trouble finding small shadowboxes that would work well for religious art. We can now look no further than Retro Cafe Art, a store that carries the full line of small shadowboxes by Coffee Break Designs. This store has more Gothic arches that I’ve ever seen in a craft store before. Wow.

I bought some and have been experimenting. Here are my first efforts with these laser-cut masonite boxes. The smaller ones have a small rounded top; I used gold foil Dresdens on the tops and bottoms. Isn’t that Gothic church cut-out one a cool box? It even comes with a little masonite stained glass window to decorate!

IMG_0353 IMG_0354 IMG_0355 IMG_0356 IMG_0357 IMG_0358 IMG_0359

Leave a Reply

